In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Since international perspective have become more valuable, the number of students choosing to study abroad is rising. Both advantages and disadvantages should be discussed. One major benefit is that studying abroad in another country which has a different language can improve one’s writing and listening skills. For example, students have to be familiar with native language; otherwise, they may not able to receive the knowledge. As soon as students master a particular language, they may have more promising prospects to be employed by multi-international companies. Another benefit is that studying in other country can increase students horizon. Experiencing another culture can help them to consider what are merits and demerits in that country. Both of them can be consulted and be used in their own countries. For instance, the railway system in Japan is complimented as the best in the world. If some students study relative major in Japanese university, they can not only absorb the knowledge but also experience by themselves. In that case, they can bring the improvements to their nation and update the system. However, the significant drawbacks should not be neglected. When students study abroad, they may struggle with different social problems. The plenty of them leave their hometown and are lack of life skills. They have to do all the households by themselves even though they may not be trained before. In addition, many students are used to rely on their parents when it comes to law. Theft happens on many countries, especially to the foreigners. The most of victims from other countries do not be familiar with the local laws. Adding the language barriers, most of them cannot deal with such things well. These drawbacks make the students live difficultly. In summary, the advantages and disadvantages should be considered before students choose to acquire degrees from other countries.