There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for couples who decide to do this

Nowadays, the number of married couples that prefer not to have children is increasing around the world. While this can result in several advantages for the concerned couple, it has a negative impact that cannot be overlooked. Many couples cite several reasons for not having kids. First of all, for a child to be a responsible and productive member of society, parents need to invest huge sums of money to educate them. So, obviously, if there are no kids the savings are phenomenal. This directly contributes to a better lifestyle for the partners in the relationship. In Vancouver for example, most of the couples who have bought their own place are those who have no kids. Apart from that, the hassle of bringing up a child should not be underestimated. Ferrying them to school, soccer matches, piano and music classes, and juggling between a career and a child are not easy tasks. A lot of young people do not have the stamina to do this because of the competitive work environment. Despite the above so-called positive aspects, there is a darker side to this. If young couples do not have kids, the country suffers in the long run. This will result in fewer younger people paying taxes and many more older people who need benefits. The result will be less money for the government to run a country. Added to this is the personal aspect which really is the joy of bringing a child into this world, bonding with it and being proud of each of its accomplishments from primary school to a good job. These couples miss out so much on the beautiful and fulfilling aspects of parenthood. In conclusion, this is a personal decision that has both positive and negative sides to it. Ultimately, the couple has to look into their own finances and goals to decide whether being parents is something they want in their own life.