More and more people are using computers and other electronic devices to access information. Therefore, there is no need to print books, magazines and newspapers on paper. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is increasingly common these days for people to access information via electronic devices such as smartphones and personal computers. However, I do not think this trend would mean that publishing physical reading materials is no longer necessary. Apparently, gaining information digitally has advantages over conventional ways, especially in its timelessness. With a particular news application on their phones, people can be informed of an earthquake that happened in a region thousands of miles away within several minutes. But those who only read newspapers will know about this natural disaster tomorrow morning because it normally takes hours to publish printed newspapers. In this sense, gaining information via electronic devices enjoys high efficiency and therefore helps people make better decisions in business and daily life alike. That’s why many news applications and websites have gained ever-increasing popularity with the prevalence of electronic gadgets. Despite digital information being incredibly time-efficient, I do not believe such a benefit can deny the necessity and irreplaceability of traditional mediums. The main reason is that these mediums have strong reliability in the information they provide. More specifically, the traditional press industry typically involves professional journalists and writers as well as responsible editors. These professionals can ensure that the news stories in newspapers are true and statistics printed in journal articles are highly reliable. The quality of information online is questioned, however. As revealed in many surveys, social media sites have become a common way for young people to access the latest information across the globe, but some news that aroused public attention and is reposted millions of times finally proved to be fake. In conclusion, based on the points made above, my conviction is that while obtaining information by digital devices is more time-efficient, it cannot replace traditional mediums where information of high quality and reliability can be ensured.