Many people believe that music is just a form of entertainment, whilst others believe that music has a much larger impact on society today. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Music has become a huge part of people’s daily life, some agree that music brings bigger influence to the public than ever before, yet some argue that music is mere amusement. To my mind, music is more than just entertainment, it is also beneficial to society. On one hand, different types of music are created for people’s amusement, the audience can listen to it on the go, or in a live concert. It is a common perspective that music can make people feel relax and delighted when they are enjoying the type of music they prefer. For example, people go to concerts by their favourite artist. However, though all of this is found to be enjoyable by most, everyone has their preferences and opinions. Therefore some see music as nothing but entertainment. On the other hand, multiple science research have proven that music can help people dealing with neurogenic disorders such as dementia. Music therapy can envoke meaningful memories of their own, likewise, music can be used to help them remain calm and reduce their level of anxiety and depression. On top of that, learning music instruments can be beneficial to brain development at young age. For instance, multitasking can be learned when practising a musical instrument, it is crucial to pay attention while playing the note of the song and focus on the movement of the upper limbs. As a result, music is beneficial to mature brains, as well as younger ones. In conclusion, music is not just an entertainment but also contributing to our brain health and development.