Some feel that cities should be designed to be beautiful while others feel their functionality is more important. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

As city dwellers spend a huge proportion of their lives in urban areas, it is natural for them to have higher expectations about their living environment. Whereas others argue that cities ought to be aesthetically pleasing, I argue that the main priority of urban development is to address the public’s basic needs. To begin with, some people believe that cities should be more pleasing to the eyes as it provides an avenue for residents to get away from hectic city life. Rather than being surrounded by the concrete jungle all the time, city -dwellers could take a stroll in a park or visit a scenic spot in the city. On top of that, a beautiful city that attracts visitors helps to facilitate the development of local tourism and hospitality industries. For example, Singapore, which is a garden city, attracts millions of international visitors every year. As a result, there is a higher demand for accommodations and services, which benefits residents who are working in relevant industries. However, I hold the view that cities should concentrate on providing basic facilities to accommodate the needs of the mass. For instance, the provision of essential medical facilities is vital. If residents could not receive prompt treatments and their health deteriorates, they would not have much impetus to appreciate the beauty of the city. On top of that, focusing on functionality is much more worthwhile. Considering that everyone appreciates art differently, it is almost impossible to make a city that is aesthetically pleasing for all. In contrast, the basic needs of the inhabitants, such as proper education, medical treatments and jobs, are similar. Therefore, focusing on functionality helps to benefit a larger group of residents. In conclusion, whereas the artistic value of a city is vital because it could facilitate the development of the local tourism industry and make the city a more livable place, I insist that city planners should prioritise functionality over appearance as the former is more critical and valuable.