Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Many processed foods and drinks are packed with sugar and this leads to many health issues. I agree that to reduce sugar consumption, carbohydrate-packed commodities should be sold at a higher price. Many individuals over-consume sugary products because they are cheap. For example, in the United States, many fast-food restaurants offer free refills on sodas. As a result, customers tend to have two or even three sodas at a meal. If these restaurants are required to implement a 20% tax on these drinks and stop supplying free refills, many customers probably wouldn’t order one at all, let alone have a second one. A regulation like this could be extremely effective in terms of preventing obesity among low-income folks since many of them are high consumers of cheap carbohydrate-sweetened foods and beverages. In addition, making high- sugar commodities more expensive can promote healthier eating choices. This is because if the prices of these goods increase to a point at which individuals are unable to afford them regularly, they may turn to foods that are healthier and more affordable. For instance, if a can of strawberry-flavoured beverage costs 3 times the price of a box of fresh strawberries, why not choose the cheaper fresh fruits which can also satisfy a craving for sugar. Although fresh fruits also contain sugars, natural sugars are much healthier than added ones. In conclusion, sugar -sweetened commodities should be made more costly to reduce sugar intake. For one thing, the over-consumption of these products is partly because of their low cost. For another, increasing their price could encourage people to choose healthier food.