Plastic bags, plastic bottles, and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by the governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Since saving our own nature from various problems such as pollution, and the impact on various living creatures due to the polythene usage, each and everyone in the community contributes to safeguarding the atmosphere. This essay illustrates how harmful the usage of plastic is to the environment, and the measures to be taken by Government and Individuals. Plastic has become a common material in human daily life. For example, while buying vegetables, groceries and many other products, plastic bags are being used to carry those. Almost all drinking water and cool drinks are supplied in plastic bottles only. Nowadays plastic is used for packaging purposes too. Even though plastic usage looks simple for everyone, it is creating many harmful surroundings as it cannot be demolished. Right after usage plastic bags, bottles and packing covers are thrown in the garbage and there are high chances that the same plastic is being consumed by other animals like cows, oxen, buffaloes and water animals. As a result of it, many are falling sick because they do not have the ability to digest the plastic. Additionally, plastic molecules get mixed with water easily due to the rise in temperature which typically happens during travel from one place to another. People who take such water, maybe diagnosed with cancer as per the recent reports. Therefore, the government should come up with public awareness programs and invest more in research institutes to come up with alternative materials to replace polythene completely. As everyone in society holds responsible for this, people should stop using the harmful things made up of plastic. Alternatively, they can use paper or cloth bags which are in use nowadays. They should take a pledge not to use plastic anymore in the future to preserve our environment for the next generations. Additionally, there are many metal bottles are available in the market. Hence, the public shows more interest to buy such instead of plastic bottles. In conclusion, I strongly believe, all these precautionary measures and alternatives would reduce the damage due to plastic to nature.