Children have more and more tests and exams to do at school, sometime starting until the age of five or six, right up until the age of eighteen. What are the advantages and disadvantages of making children do exams?

For decades, taking oral or written exams from pupils from pre-school until college by instructors has been persuing in the education system to evaluate children. Nowadays, this kind of assessment has become an essential part of schools. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of conducting tests at school. To begin with, on the positive side, taking quizzes constantly help teachers to assess their capability in different skills. For instance, teachers can find children’s weaknesses and strengths to help them improve or find an aptitude for specific talents like painting or math. Moreover, by these exams, students show their intelligence and commitment to learning, which helps them secure admission to top universities and expands their mental abilities to cope with more significant real-life problems. One of the most convincing opinions against this substantial number of exams is how it affects pupils’ mental health and increases stress. Evaluation of students with peers and parental pressure to make progress in each exam can further deteriorate children’s mental stability. For example, some pupils are weak in specific topics and get low scores repeatedly. Then, their inability to improve in those topics may cause effects their confidence. However, exam pressure may trigger depression in the worst-case scenarios. To conclude, conducting too many exams help educators to assess their student’s ability, although constant pressure of evaluations can be detrimental for academically poor students. Parents and teachers must provide a calm and stress-free environment to help students excel in exams.