University education should be restricted to the very best academic students, rather than being available to a large proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the past, tertiary education was limited to a small proportion of people who were the most academic students. Today, however, many more young people have the opportunity of going to university, and I think that this is a much better situation for several reasons. Firstly, individuals today need much higher-level skills and technical knowledge. For example, many professionals require advanced computer skills and an ability to adapt to a rapidly changing workplace. Schools do not have the resources to equip students with these skills, so universities have to fulfil this role. Furthermore, societies cannot continue to develop unless more citizens are educated. In order to progress and compete in the modern world, each country needs people who can develop modern technologies further and apply them in new fields. Finally, it is only fair that anyone who could benefit from a university education should have access to one. Therefore, there should be equal opportunities for everyone to realise their full potential. Going to university is part of this. In conclusion, I totally disagree with the statement because I believe that the increasing availability of tertiary education is vital both for the individual and for society as a whole. Individuals need as high a level of education as possible to achieve their full potential, and in the same way, society in the 21st century cannot function unless it has large numbers of highly educated people to cope with the changes to our living and working environment that are likely to occur in the coming decades.