Some people think parents should read or tell stories to children. Others think parents needn’t do that as children can read books or watch TV, movies by themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Society, without any doubt, is divided into two groups as per the distinct mindsets of different people. It is often argued that parents should tell or read stories to children, whilst others disagree and think children are capable of doing such things by themselves. Although many people claim that children can entertain themselves, I firmly believe parents should read books or watch shows with children. This essay will not only shed light on both perceptions but also my point of view will be elaborated in the conclusion. Initiating with the points supporting the first school of thought. Firstly, a multitude of people claims that parents should spend as much time as possible with children such as reading bedtime stories despite any inconvenience. This is because adolescents require parents affection. Besides, if parents are swamped with work and responsibilities, they will give inadequate time to children. Thereby, it is crucial for working parents to read or tell tales to children. As an illustration, a recent study held at Standford University has shown that 45% of parents with hectic schedules read books or watch series with children so that they would not feel unloved. On the other hand, society thinks that children do not need parents to read books or tell stories. This is due to in this period of technology every child has their own cell phone or tablet with available applications where they can engross themselves thereby they do not seek parents attention. Moreover, many parents argue that children should read books and watch on their own at an early age so they would not encounter problems in later life. As a result, they will live a better life. For instance, a recent study run by an Oxford professor found that 60% of adolescents in the UK, who used to indulge in activities themselves, are seen to be successful at a very young age. In conclusion,according to my perspective, no matter how busy parents are they should give their children time by doing small things like reading books or telling stories.