Violence in the media promotes violence in society. To what extent do you agree?

Many people tend to believe that violence on TV leads to the rise of criminals in real life. I partially agree with this statement, and in this essay, I will outline my arguments for and against such a phenomenon. On the one hand, cruel movies and series can romanticise the destructive behaviour of their main characters. There is no denying the fact that the public can replicate the wrongdoings of some fictional communities. For example, according to the statistics, after the release of the series ‘Euphoria’, some Americans, including teenagers, were indulged in drugs. The main female character there was struggling with drug addiction, thus, in reality, individuals were curious about substances, resulting in purchasing these unhealthy products illegally. On the other hand, I firmly believe that it is always the people’s choice to commit crimes. Society itself is in charge of its actions, so the ultimate responsibility should be put on each person. Besides, many movies show the consequences of delinquent behaviours, preventing the deviants` duplication. As an illustration, I remember how overwhelmed the people were after watching the new ‘Joker’. These flicks contained a lot of cruel scenes, but the audience was not encouraged to become violent as this story ended with the Joker’s loneliness and madness. To sum up, this topic is definitely debatable, so I could agree with both sides to some extent. As some individuals are perceptive, the media about delinquents can affect them negatively. However, mainly the public is stable and thoughtful enough to understand the possible outcomes of committing the wrongdoings, so looking at the violent scenes is only a way to relieve stress for them.