Nowadays many people travel to foreign countries for pleasure. Some believe this travel has a negative impact on the countries travelled to. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Travel around the world is more popular today than it was a few decades ago, and many sectors of the economy are expanded and extended by tourism revenues. However, some people believe that tourism also has detrimental effects on the destination country. I partially agree with this statement, and I will explain more details in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, it is claimed that attracting visitors from other countries has certain positive effects on a country's economy. Tourists often spend a lot of money on hotels, food, tour guides and other pleasures. In addition, the influx of tourists would help the country develop economically. For example, the Thai government has improved its country's economy and local businesses' income through ecotourism and is now known as one of the most tourist-friendly countries. On the other hand, tourist flows could cause environmental damage in one particular region. Visitors produce a large amount of garbage during their holiday, which leads to pollution of the environment in that place. For example, many beaches are flooded with different types of plastic, which leads to the extinction of local fauna and flora. To sum up, the growing number of tourists can bring a lot of relief to a country, but also a lot of problems, including environmental pollution. I believe tourism would have a beneficial effect on a country's economy only if the government regulates it and undertakes some regulations.