There are many people who go to live in different countries. To what extent should people be allowed to move freely between countries and live where they choose? What are the benefits and drawbacks of this?

Today, more and more people are moving to other countries, which can lead to demographic, economic and ecological issues. I do believe, however, that people are free to travel and move to wherever they want, but under certain conditions like making quotas of immigration in order to preserve the balance of people, jobs and pollution in the country. To begin with, thanks to new ways of working and thanks to low-cost plane companies, people are willing to settle down in other countries to make a better living, to try something new and better for them. For example, after the Covid crisis, a lot of people wanted to go to live in the countryside or go to live in a sunny area of the planet. Likewise, more and more young job seekers try to leave their home country to start a working experience abroad. For instance, after graduating, young workers move to foreign countries like Australia to work as fruit pickers. Although moving to another part of the world sounds attractive, it can lead to many issues for the welcoming country; More often, people move to big cities in order to find a job easily, which can sometimes, generate overpopulation and fluctuating unemployment rate in the whole nation. In addition, the movement of population is mostly made by plane, which is the most polluting way of travel. We may need to be careful of these consequences and the solution could be to quantify the amount of people moving. For example, we could just make quotas to reduce the impact on the demography and on climate. In conclusion, whilst moving to another country is possible and attractive for more and more people, I do believe that we need to be concerned by the risks that can be generated by this kind of immigration, which can damage the climate and the demographic balance of the chosen country.