We can get knowledge from news. But some people even think we should not trust the journalists. What do you think? And what do you think are the important qulities that a journalist should have?

The media plays a significant role in our lives; therefore, all reports from the media should be trustworthy. However, I completely agree that the reliability of news has declined in recent years. This essay will discuss several reasons why this is the case, as well as the essential characteristics of being a qualified journalist. In my opinion, several factors have contributed to the decrease in news reliability. Firstly, with the development of the internet, the network traffic and the number of clicks have become a new KPI to determine the success of media. As a result, editors tend to overstate some parts of facts in order to catch more readers’ attention, which makes the articles not objective. Secondly, some social issues, such as discrimination, still exist, which means that some biases could be shown in the news reports simply due to the report subjects’ nationalities or skin colours. Finally, in some counties, negative news is severely restricted by the government; similarly, some celebrities do not mind paying journalists huge sums of money to keep their scandals from being reported. Consequently, the public can never see the truth. As far as I am concerned, there are two important skills that journalists should obtain. Journalists, as the medium between report subjects and readers, should be highly skilled communicators, which means that they are able to ask questions in a proper manner and write in-depth articles. Moreover, there is no doubt that a good journalist should have an analytical mind and critical thinking skills so that they are capable to investigate the evidence and fact and write accurately. In conclusion, I believe that the news reports have become less trustworthy as a consequence of various reasons. Excellent communication skills and investigation skills are crucial for a successful journalist.