Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that governments should invest in railways instead of roads. I completely agree with this point of view because railways are more environmentally friendly and can also be more economical. It is my view that funding railways and encouraging people to use them more can be highly beneficial. As a result of making railways more accessible to the public, people will be more willing to use them which can lead to a better environment and reduces air pollution. Moreover, railways are more convenient in congested urban areas where parking is limited and a high number of cars on roads can result in heavy traffic which can be very annoying to people. In addition, using railways and any other means of public transportation is much cheaper and time-saving than travelling by car. In contrast, some people claim that governments should emphasize more roads as they are better for short trips and cars can be safer and more comfortable for people. They firmly insist that driving cars and travelling on roads is more comfortable and public transport is often slow and unreliable. However, I do not find this argument convincing because nowadays modern public transportation and railways are highly standard and governments must ensure that frequent and reliable public transportation is available for each citizen. In conclusion, I completely agree with funding railways instead of roads because they can help to reduce pollution in cities and they are also much cheaper and faster than cars and they would also ease traffic congestion.