It will be better for society and individuals if driverless cars are widely used. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technological advancements introduced by the modern age are transforming peoples’ lives. There is a view that autonomous vehicles can bring advantages to communities and every person, and this essay will explain why I completely agree with this notion. One of the most significant benefits of self-driving vehicles is that they can improve walkability and liveability for people, especially the elderly and the physically disabled. This is important because not only is the elderly population rising due to increased life expectancy over the years, but also the disabled people tend to get stuck in one place owing to their mobility limitations. If, for instance, these populations were able to move around as they desired with the help of a self-driving car, this would give them a sense of autonomy for living, which can be empowering. In turn, it helps to reduce the tendency of depression to occur as well as curtail happiness that may arise. Apart from the benefits that autonomous cars could bring to individuals, it also provides crucial health improvement and reduces the fatality rate in society. To begin with the former, the positive impact of auto-pilot vehicles on human health is vast and undeniable. The reason is that it is powered by electricity instead of fossil fuels, which can lower carbon dioxide emissions dramatically. As a result, not only are the high risks of exposure to a variety of health effects lowered, but they as well protect the environment due to a reduction in pollution. As for the latter, a self-driving car is operated by artificial intelligence, which is being trained to prepare the vehicle for nearly every event on the road. This is why such an automation system is much safer and more reliable than human drivers who might have been drinking or texting while driving. Increasing the number of self-driving cars on the road could therefore lower the death tolls in large metropolitan areas. In conclusion, because of the sizeable influence that autonomous vehicles can have on the public and its people, I strongly agree that governments should rapidly phase out vehicles that run on diesel and petrol.