Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other s think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own oipinion.

Some believe that advertising has a powerful effect on customers’ consumption behaviour while other feel that advertisements are so ubiquitous that we have already lost interest in them. In my view, however, advertising has taken on a multitude of new forms and is shaping people’s purchasing choices in a more implicit and profound way. Certainly, advertising is fundamental in affecting our preferences. The main reason is that companies roll out a variety of commercials to attract customers by using exaggerated audio, images and colours to enhance our feelings. Besides, advertising also leaves an unforgettable impression on the audience by connecting certain products with a unique lifestyle. For instance, NIKE has demonstrated the detailed colour and transformative functions of its sneakers through a video of running, which, combined with other factors, implies the fact that once you buy this pair, you are likely to lead a healthier life and begin to engage in regular physical activity. However, some still argue that advertisements are no longer attractive despite their persuading power because there are basically so many of them that customers have developed their own “immune system.” According to the State Statistics Administration of Australia, only one in twenty commercials are watched over 1 minute while the rest are quickly switched as soon as they pop up. In my perspective, unlike in old days, advertising has been more subtle but more powerful in the meantime. They have been integrated into videos of many influencers or shopping websites, which is more customer-friendly. In conclusion, although some people may feel sick about advertising, it cannot be denied that it still plays a significant role in moulding our purchasing behaviours. The only reason why advertising appears less attractive may be that it has already been integrated into our daily lives.