Some people believe that is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a debate that the information acquired in research and other academic fields should be shared freely. Others believe that some essential data are too valuable to be accessed easily. I personally think that researchers must provide their peers with the latest news under certain conditions. I will explore both views and give potential reasons with further explanation. As far as the concept of science is concerned, previous research in a specific field helps the researchers in new discoveries and fills the scientific gaps. Therefore, sharing the recent results would assist the next scientists to find the potential gaps and conducting new research. If these data were unavailable or limited to reach, the main purpose of the science would be dismissed. For example, I remember when I was doing a literature review for my thesis, I sometimes had issues with getting the full text of articles. Consequently, I lacked some beneficial information to answer my research question. On the other hand, most faculty members prefer to share their publications and earn money in return. Since they suppose that their findings should be valued by others. However, the authors would benefit from the free accessibility of their journal articles. For instance, their rates of citation and h-index will rise in a short period of time. Thus, shared data is not only beneficial to the researchers, but also helps the science to be updated. To conclude, information in the academic world is available either free or on payment. I reckon the science is meaningful when everyone accepts that shared data is advantageous to the whole community.