As a part of their education, many students work at a company for a short period of time without a salary. Are there more advantages than disadvantages to this?

Practical experience is essential for any student to be job -ready. Nowadays, many individuals prefer to get a job with an organization during their learning years without any pay. I believe the advantages of gaining real-world experience by working for a company are way more than the negatives of not getting paid during the initial years. Practical learning is the foremost benefit that any person gets by working for a firm. While students do get theoretical knowledge through their academic curriculum, it is only once they start working on real-world problems they tend to use that learning and convert it into useful skills, which can help them earn better in their careers. For example, being employed with a firm enables one to solve real business problems such as managing customer issues, increasing sales etc, which helps them understand the job market better and become better prepared for future jobs. In addition, graduates also improve their communication skills by working with experienced people as they get to work with people from different departments. Hence, it is a big positive for anyone to get some work experience while they are still in school or college. However, working without any pay has few demerits. Firstly, money acts as a great motivator for one to work hard. A few people might not take their job seriously in case they are not being paid, and thus, they tend to do an average job, which is a big problem for most companies. For instance, many believe their work is important only if there is someone who is ready to pay for it. Secondly, some students might not be able to afford to work without getting any stipend as they would find it difficult to manage their expenses irrespective of their willingness to get work experience. To sum up, though not getting any salary for their job does have certain negatives, the positives of gaining practical knowledge via solving real-world problems are more than the downsides. So one should try to get as much hands-on experience that they can at any point in life.