Some people prefer to live in an extended family where a number of different generations live together. Others prefer to live in a small, nuclear family. List some of the advantages and disadvantages of living in a large, extended family.

Living in an extended family where various generations live together are preferred to some people, while others think nuclear family with only partners and children is better. In this essay, I will examine what are the advantages and disadvantages of living in a large extended family. To live with different ages together in a house has several benefits. The elderly would have young people taking care of them because the old might have some difficulties doing their own everyday life routine. The elder having problem with walking may need strong youngsters to held their body for moving one place to another, for instance. Likewise, adult couples with children are likely to rely on the old people for taking of their babies. Couples in Thailand who have retired old grandmother at home are a good example of this. The reason is because the price of hiring a nanny is expensive for them. On the other hand, small nuclear family with only partners and children are preferred to some people for many negative aspects of extended family. Too many people living together might bring about possible disturbance from one another, and may lead to some arguments or fight. Due to the difference in age, teenagers and adults or old people could have different ways of thinking. For example, Teenagers listening to loud music would disturb the old who want to live in quiet and peaceful environment. The consequences are finally some people moving out and living with only few people. In conclusion, living in an extended family has a number of advantages, whereas there are also negative perspectives. In my personal opinion, I think it depends on the way people choose to live their lives because every thing has their own benefits and drawbacks.