In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

In some countries, the average weight of people is rising, which, I believe, is because eating healthy is too expensive in these countries. Their health and fitness conditions are also becoming worse. I think this is mainly due to the weight they gain. To solve these problems, governments should place a high tax on junk food and meanwhile make healthy food affordable. Junk food is much cheaper than healthy food. Fresh fruits and vegetables are more expensive to farm than crops that will be processed because they rely on human labor rather than machines. For example, fresh strawberries have to be picked by hand whereas strawberries destined for preserves can be harvested by a machine since bumps and bruises do not matter in the process, and machines are much cheaper in the long run. This makes many people dependent on cheap, unhealthy food to fill their stomachs. Since it is generally high in calories, they easily gain weight as they eat more of it. Their weight gain, in turn, has a negative effect on their fitness since what they gain is fat, not muscle. Even worse, once they become overweight, they will be prone to obesity-related health problems such as heart disease and diabetes. To solve these problems, junk food should be heavily taxed. Since low prices are the main reason why many people consume it regularly, a high tax could effectively discourage them from doing so. Healthy food should also be made affordable and governments can help by giving subsidies to farmers whose produce will be sold fresh. In conclusion, the low price of junk food and the high price of healthy food are the main reasons why in some countries people are becoming heavier. The weight they gain then negatively affects their health and fitness. To address these issues, healthy food should be sold at affordable prices and Junk food should be subjected to high taxes.