Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the time period, it is mooted whether the government should improve roads or expand railway lines for the betterment of transportation and commerce.Many government officials and news agencies believe that institutions should spend more money on railway lines rather than roads. In this essay,we shall first discuss the advantages and then the disadvantages of the same. To begin with, railways have been one of the most convenient and fastest modes of transport for years. People prefer railways for longer routes instead of land transport because of their capability to carry heavy goods with them. For instance, if a person wants to travel from Delhi to Jaipur with goods, the car would take approximately 6 to 7 hours but the railway will only take 3 to 4 hours. Other than that, the railway is not only environmentally friendly but also cost-effective. For example, the journey which cost around 5000 by a car (because of the price of petrol) could easily be done by train from 1500 to 2000. On the other hand, the railways have many disadvantages also. Firstly, the railway's track can not be built at all places, which significantly limits its use. For instance, they can not be built in the dry terrain of Rajasthan which has lots of deserts, they also can't be built on steep hills and mountains in the Himalayas. Secondly, the cost of laying the railway lines is much higher in comparison to roads. This again is a big constraint for governments to expand the trains. In summary, both the modes of transport have their own advantage and disadvantage.In my opinion, there should be an amalgamation of both modes of transport.