People in all modern societies use drugs, but today’s youth are experimenting with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an increasingly early age. Some sociologists claim that parents and other members of society often set a bad example. Discuss the causes and some effects of widespread drug use by young people in modern day society.

It is often argued that in today's advancing world, the use of drugs is becoming a new norm among teenagers, and they are becoming involved in this rueful narcotic culture, without realising whether they are legit or not. Researchers believe that this is due to neglect of the guardians, who are responsible for setting a good example. This essay will further highlight the reasons and some ways to resolve this growing issue in our community. Firstly, the reasons why the use of weed and opioid is becoming common is underage exposure to rough content available on the internet and bad social circle. In other words, over-exposure and having a shady friends cycle are directing kids on the wrong route. Furthermore, this matter needs to be addressed immediately, as it carries the ability to ruin bright futures. Additionally, the drug is considered to be an addictive substance, and once you start its consumption, it becomes difficult to sensibly prioritise your studies and future plans. For instance, a recent study at Columbia University suggests that people who get involved with opioids have a very low withdrawal rate, as a result, they never become conscious enough to lead a normal life. However, to resolve and prevent this vicious cycle of narcotic abuse, parents and local bodies need to come up with a policy where the use of drugs below a certain age should be considered a punishable crime. This way youth will refrain from using any such product. Moreover, parents need to be extra vigilant with their own acts and the acts of their kids, as they are likely to follow good examples when they are led they them. To conclude, drug misuse is becoming an issue of concern, not just for the guardians but for the entire nation. As the youth is the future of a nation. Therefore, it is extremely necessary to take urgent measures to save the communities from collapsing.