Education should be accessible to people of all economic backgrounds. All levels of education, from primary school to tertiary education should be free. To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

It is commonplace to see governments around the world spending billions of dollars on education. Whereas some people argue that everyone should have access to all levels education, I argue that it is counter-productive and jeopardise the development of other sectors. To begin with, free education cultivates a variety of talents to address the needs of the society. This is because everyone, regardless of their financial ability, will gain an opportunity to hone their skills and become a useful member of the society. For example, there will be more skillful doctors to carry out surgeries and lawyers to fight against injustice. This will ultimately benefit the society as a whole. Furthermore, the country will become more competitive on the world stage. Since there is a larger pool of talents, it is be much easier to achieve breakthroughs in various sectors like science, medical and military, and become leaders in these fields. However, I believe that many students will feel less motivated to study. As compared to paying their school fees directly where individuals understand that the education they receive does not come easy, students may not aware that the free education system is ultimately funded through a complicated tax system, and they end up taking the valuable education opportunity for granted. On top of that, free education could be a success at the expense of other sectors ’ development. Considering that the cost of providing free education for all is an astronomical figure, governments will have to limit the expenditure on other sectors to support the free education system. In other words, equally important sectors like transport and housing will be sacrificed. In conclusion, although free education makes the country more competitive and equips the society with experts to accommodate the needs of the public, it is an unwise approach because it thrives at the expense of other important sectors and students may become less motivated to work hard.