Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree?

British and Australian jurisprudence gives the jury no opportunity to get to know the data on the defendant’s previous criminal archive and this helps the person who is being blamed. Several lawyers offered to stop practising this phenomenon and provide the jury with all the former information before they would solve the case. I totally agree with this statement as it can be of benefit to both the defendant and the jury. On the one hand, giving such information to the jury members aids them to stay neutral and make unbiased judgments on the present and previous data. And this somehow is on the side of a defendant. What if he or she has not done the crime? The present law can result in new crimes as the person who is intended to make a crime can be assured that the law will pass by its previous crimes. On the other hand, this can generate some difficulties for both the accuser and the jury. Moreover, in all situations, the jury would judge based on the present issue, not being well acquainted with the person. It is believed, that history tends to repeat itself. So, there is a little probability that one can change oneself and regret it after a while. And the time shows that they mostly do not alter their approach and go on with their behaviour. So, being acquainted with the person ’s all characteristic traits and person's past would give the jury a chance to make a better decision based on many facts and factors. Consequently, I agree with the lawyers who want to change the British and Australian laws connected to this issue.