The food travels thousand of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think that it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate local produced food. What extent do the advantages outweigh disadvantages ?

Since the advent of aviation, food travel has become a common phenomenon. However, it is suggested that local food ought to have opted in order to safeguard the environment and benefit the farmers. Admittedly, individuals can enjoy a variety of food items. Nonetheless, imported food impinges on the biosphere and on the economy of a nation incredibly. On the one hand, importing needed food items from the other nation is highly beneficial, consumers can have a variety of food items on their dining table which can only be possible thanks to the importation of food. To add to it, the land of certain countries is not fertile relatively to others which may further yield to the scarcity of necessary food. To cite an example, Arabian countries are unable to fulfil the demand for food owing to non-fertile soil. Therefore it is inevitable that dependence on food travel has become the need of the hour for many nations. On the other hand, buying food from other countries is extremely detrimental to the environment. Firstly, transportation modes, ranging from lorries to aeroplanes are needed to provide such kinds of food items to every corner of the world. Consequently, an exorbitant amount of fossil fuel is consumed, which further leads to the depletion of our environment. Secondly, consumers have to pay an extra cost, included in the price since these food items are taxed by statutory bodies while travelling, in that,case local food items can be cheaper and healthier. To conclude, food travelling internationally is beneficial for the consumers though serious repercussions caused by food travel cannot be ignored