Many people say that universities should only offer places to young students with the highest marks, while other say they should accept people of all ages, even if they did not do well at school.Discuss both views and give your own opinion

In this knowledge-based society, where the acquisition of knowledge is the key to better career prospects and having access to university education is a life-changing opportunity for many students. Nevertheless, some people claim universities should only accept young pupils with the highest grades, whereas others emphasise every student regardless of age and academic ability should be given equal educational opportunities. I will discuss both views and state my opinion in the following essay. Firstly, those who support the idea of high school students with higher grades are more deserved to attend university point of their superior to their academic skills when compared to their peers. Therefore, such scholars are more likely to handle the immense workload and pressure at university. Moreover, offering university places only a limited number of students would result in high-quality undergraduates. For instance, many well-known universities in Vietnam such as National Economic University or Foreign Trade University recruit only the highest scorers in the national university entrance exam in order to make sure that all of the resources are available for students who have a higher chance of success. However, supporters of the second opinion believe it is unfair to older students or those who do not well at school. A student's age or performance at school does not always reflect their potential to succeed at university. Thus, it is unethical to deny access to tertiary education to some students, especially in a world where formal qualifications are of great importance in gaining employment. Also, there is more to college admissions than just academic performance. For instance, some universities such as Yale or Havard, not only accept academically gifted students but also those who are particularly gifted in sport or art. This helps to maintain a diverse community, where each student is valued and rewarded for what they are good at instead of just academic excellence. In conclusion, although only accepting students with high marks is advantageous in some ways, I believe providing higher education for all students is more just and beneficial in the long term.