In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, an increasing number of young adults are deciding to apply for work -based training over university education. Some benefits include greater exposure to realistic industry-related tasks and quicker generation of income. However, while these benefits may be initially felt, many high-school graduates can become extremely limited to just a specific handful of jobs, due to the majority of industries these days requiring a minimum education of a bachelor's degree. One advantage that comes with early work -based training is the greater exposure to real-life work experience. Many university students are often too occupied with their studies and school-related activities to simply have the time to look for work opportunities. For instance, a business student may be eager to partake in work experience in a car company; however, she may find that in doing so, she will struggle with the extra pressure and stress in balancing her priorities. Hence, people who choose work -based training immediately over university studies can gain the priceless insider knowledge from the direct interactions with their colleagues and supervisors. Moreover, another critical benefit is the faster income growth. Those who enrol in work -based training can obtain salaries at a much earlier stage than university students. A result of this is that many young adults can be on the quicker path to financial freedom or can confidently reduce their familial dependence for tuition fees and living costs. However, a crucial disadvantage to contemplate is the limited number of industries one would be able to work in. A large majority of high-paying industries, such as healthcare and finance, require at least a bachelor's degree. Hence, choosing to forgo university education will constrict the variety of places one could work in the future. Furthermore, society can be extremely condescending towards individuals with no higher education. In many countries, a social stigma exists that a university degree is essential for a successful career. This can lead to many feeling ostracised and isolated from society, which can negatively affect mental and social health. In conclusion, while I firmly believe that choosing not to pursue a university education can be beneficial, it comes with many more risks, which are highly critical considerations for one's future goals and mental health. Therefore, I do not think that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.