It is sometimes said that governments should dedicate a fixed proportion of their country’s income to foreign aid each year, and this fixed proportion should always be donated on other countries. Opponents of this idea, however, say that aid should have no fixed proportion, and help should only be sent to other countries at times when it is really needed. What are the arguments on both sides of this debate? What is your own view on the matter?

The issue of foreign aid goes to the heart of how nations should cooperate together, and whether this should be on a ‘quota’ system or more ‘as needed.’ In this often heated debate, the opposing arguments can perhaps be summarised as follows. Proponents of the quota system claim that wealthier nations have a moral duty to sacrifice some of their income to help poorer countries, and that this duty does not rise or fall depending on circumstances. This argument is often used to justify the quota arrangement for former imperial states such as Holland, France or Britain. Moreover, the arguments goes, the fixed proportion system allows the receiving countries to plan and budget reliably, building the foreign aid into their economic calculations. However, opponents of the fixed donation system respond that this budgetary aspect is in fact the most damaging aspect of the idea. They point out that, if aid money is provided regardless of whether it is actually needed, the funds become part of the recipient country’s administrative system, with all the dangers of inefficiency and corruption that this involves. It must be said that fixed aid to some developing countries falls into this trap, as even the local charities themselves will agree. What is more, if aid funds could be held back until times of emergency, such as floods, famine or civil war, the money available would then be far higher and thus would help more people in distress. To conclude, it appears to me that opponents of the quota system have the more robust argument, with their concerns over unnecessary donations which reduce emergency funding in future. We all recognize a moral duty to help those in need, but surely these resources should be targeted more strictly towards sufferers, rather than sent permanently to government departments to become part of the local economy.