Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a “fat tax” is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Consumption of convenience food has detrimental effects on the population and the environment where they reside. There are people who suggest imposing taxes on junk foods, while others believe these taxes would impact poor people's lives. This essay intends to shed light on both views before reaching a plausible opinion. To begin with, one of the predominant benefits of imposing taxes is that it will dwindle the sale of unhealthy foods, consequently, the intake of healthy productive food items will increase. As a result, people will be healthier, since these fast foods gradually harm the human body. To exemplify, the number of cases of food poisoning depends on the number of diners available in that area, as quoted by BBC. Moreover, these taxes would increase the demand for organic food that comes straight from the farm. Thereafter, it will help in improving the conditions of poor farmers. On the contrary, multi-dollar fast- food chains like Mcdonald's and KFC provide employment to numerous people. To illustrate, around 10 lakh people in Asian countries have been employed in Dominos, Mcdonald's and Burger King. When the government introduces these fat taxes, their sales will be immensely impacted. Hence, this will result in a job crunch for many of these employees. However, I am inclined towards the aforementioned notion because maintaining good health is the primary priority. Unhealthy foods cause a lot of health problems, not just to an individual but to the society where it is in ample quantity. To conclude, convenience foods have a lot of ramifications, so imposing taxes on it have more pros than cons.