In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In many nations, some citizens think it is mandatory to use governments' budget to build new railway lines for cutting-edge fast trains to travel from one point to another whereas others believe it is better to spend money on transport which is already being used. In this essay, I will explore both sides of these thoughts and give my own idea. Firstly, I will explore the advantages that new ones might bring. Secondly, I will discuss how improving existing ones can help better. In my opinion, individuals who like new railway lines to be constructed are in need of it. They may be travellers or people who use it very often in order to go to their work. Furthermore, I would not disagree with this statement since it has many benefits such as it is cheaper and faster. For example, many developed countries are aware of the importance of having well-planned railway lines, especially since they were defined as one of their priority to construct more railway lines after world war two. On the other hand, I think it might be considered a waste of money if a country does not really need it. Investing for that in small and well-developed countries which already have systematic transport would be consuming sources meanwhile there are more important issues to tackle such as improving existing public transport. For Instance, individuals in Luxemburg do not really need more trains running around their country as they are able to reach any point within borders without wasting long hours. To sum up, it is understandable that there are different thoughts about the given statement. In my opinion, the situation depends on a country's facilities, economy and needs. Thus, I can agree with people having both sides of view to some extent.