Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

There has been a heated debate about how important economic progress is to a government. Although, some people reckon that economy plays a significant role in developing a country. I strongly believe that other types of progress are also integral. On the one hand, it is indeed that economic progress makes lots of contributions to the self-development of a nation. As it helps to increase the national and local budgets spent on many public purposes. A typical example is that, nowadays, many countries have been building plenty of interesting places or unique landmarks, and creating many means of entertainment including tournaments, hotels, and restaurants,... so that the countries can attract as many visitors as possible, adding an excessive profit to the countries ' revenue. As a result, these governments can allocate their financial resources to construct a welfare system, improving the living standards of the citizen, such as more schools in remote areas, or more healthcare policies for the poor and homeless. Next, boosting the economic progress is considered a great opportunity in integrating into the international market, for example, if the economy significantly progresses, then we easily have a good reputation in the international organizations, creating more international collaborations between us and other foreign countries. On the other hand, I support the idea that other types of progress should also be addressed. Firstly, there is no doubt that medical progress is the most basic goal to be achieved. These days, the physical health of the workforce is crucial to the economy, good healthcare can bring about good productivity, high quantity, and quality for the manufacturing, helping to maintain the stable income for the companies and enterprises, who pay the most taxes. Secondly, education has always been a core foundation in creating a promising future for a country. As we all know, the curriculum and teaching methods or facilities affect much of the knowledge gained by the children who account for the most percentage of the labor later. Therefore, if a country can apply an open-minded, plus innovative educational programs, it easily owes a remarkable number of high-qualified employees in the future who devote most time and effort to the development of a country. In conclusion, I think that the government should spend more time investigating what type of progress is in need. In my opinion, each type has its own importance in society.