Today, the children are under great pressure to excel in studies. Why is this? How does it affect the children?

Nowadays academic excellence is a must for children, there is not chance on failing and it generates so much pressure that results on unrepairable consequences on their life. This essay will explain the reasons of the mentioned phenomenon as well as the affectations that it develops on the youngest ones. To begin, if we think about the roots of why this situation became so popular during school life, we certainly will find that parents have a great responsibility. The social standards are now stricter and assure that to obtain success mistakes must being avoided, hence, parents think they have to press their kids to guarantee perfection and only with that method they would be appreciated. For example, in Colombia the rates of parents punishing their children increase when each the school term finishes which means that they are trying to repair unsuccess or fail with these strategies. However, this is not 100% assertive when emotional well-being is affected. The pressure is an excess, and it results not only breaking relationships between relatives but also promoting the reduction of self- confidence and self - steam. Thus, when a child under this model of education fails will not see on it an opportunity to learn, instead he will be frustrated and with prejudicial emotions whereas one with support and health perspective of excellence will see it as a new beginning to try again and next time do his best. Besides, those emotional issues developed specially during the early years are unmodified and can change the life for ever, for instance, so many people get anxiety symptoms during their adulthood as consequence of too much pressure and unhealthy relationships during their childhood. To conclude, families are the foundation to develop children stability in all their areas and for this reason they are the cause of the increment or reduction of pressure on school life and of course also of confident and capable individuals in the future. Then, if parents want to develop emotional readiness on their loved young ones without any doubt prioritize their children over perfection calcifications is the right method.