The government should close companies that produce toxic waste materials without their own waste treatment facility in order to protect the envirnonment. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your position.

There is an old proverb which states "We do not inherit the land from our ancestors, rather we borrow it from our children". Some people believe the environment should be protected and therefore companies which cannot treat their waste should be closed. I believe this is something to consider and so I agree with this statement. In this essay I will discuss the other solutions, should closure not be a viable option. Producing toxic waste materials has a two-fold problem. Not only does it harm the environment, but also the people working there. These people require justice. For instance, clothing companies send orders to third-world countries like Bangladesh, in order to profit from cheap labour. These clothing companies, who are notorious for being part of the fast fashion industry, exploit these workers endlessly. Children and women are given tasks of handling polyurethane without protective gear, leaving them with irritated skin. This is one of many examples of how toxic waste can hurt humans. When these materials are discarded, it is fed into the rivers. The corrosive waste products pollute the rivers and the water sources, killing the organisms that live there. Consequently, this results in the death of aquatic organisms. Sometimes, these companies are necessary for one reason or another. They could have a knock-on effect on the communities, such as the ability to make a livelihood. In this case, there would be an argument to consider another solution. If there were measures taken to implement fines on these companies, they would consider the impact of their actions. For example, giving companies a fine proportionate to their waste means the bigger conspirators would be handed a larger fine. In my opinion, fines and other solutions can solve the bigger problem, rather than the closure of these companies. There are many aspects to consider before completely shutting it down. Fundamentally, the goal is zero waste, but until then we must take measures which consider all the victims in the scenario.