Some people believe that internet is increasing the gap between the rich and poor, while others argue that it helps to reduce this gap. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

The internet has become so popular worldwide that almost every person on the earth has access to this technology. Although a large group of people often highlight its role in increasing the inequalities between the rich and poor section of society, as per my way of thinking, this has worked oppositely and continuously effacing the gap. It is evident that the rich have expanded their businesses using the internet. Taking an example of the leading online seller, Amazon, would it have been possible for them to become the number one seller; if they had not taken advantage of this technology? Indeed not; moreover, as a consequence of their achievement, local vendors have been cannibalized by them. In other words, small shopkeepers have no other choice than to close their shops and think about different types of work. Seemingly, the economic gap has increased to a large scale. A questionable fact is that has it benefited anyone from the poor section? Yes, undeniably, the online learning platforms are working day and night to educate everyone. Nevertheless, it was not evident before the COVID-19 pandemic. For instance, free distance learning through the internet made the online classes from reputed foreign universities possible for the eligible middle class as well as poor students with flexible timings. Now they can not only further their studies at night but also get high-paid jobs according to their education level. In this way, by imparting literacy, it is diminishing the monetary imbalance among different sections. In conclusion, from the usage of the internet, though the profits garnered by corporates can never be overlooked, the disparities between the rich and poor are being eliminated through online learning to a great extent.