Although there is a lot of translation software available, learning a language could be advantageous. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Despite the widespread availability of translation apps, learning a foreign language has merits learners can benefit from. I agree with this statement, as acquiring a new language bridges cross-cultural understanding and improves learners’ cognitive thinking, memory, and problem-solving skills. Many online and offline translation programs have made it easier for users to translate without learning the target language. Despite their conveniences, translation apps cannot help users understand other cultures and contexts in foreign languages. When learning a foreign language, students can learn not only grammar and vocabulary of the target language from their teachers but also a good understanding of foreign cultures. For example, recent studies say that most professionals who speak at least one foreign language said that understanding foreign cultures has helped them grow personally and professionally. Learning a foreign language can develop learners’ cognitive thinking, memory, and problem-solving skills. Learners’ cognitive skills can be improved through learning new grammatical rules and producing speech and text in a foreign language. Moreover, studying new lexical items can also boost learners’ memory as they actively recall foreign words when learning the target language. Their problem-solving skills will also improve as researchers have proven that learning a new language helps brains make new neuron connections, strengthening brainpower. For instance, researchers reported that young students who are taught a second language tend to score higher in science subjects such as math, physics, and chemistry. In conclusion, learning a new language is more beneficial because learners can better comprehend the foreign culture and improve their intelligence.