Nowadays, celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements, and this has set a bad example for young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Superstars like Kim Kardashian and Kendall Jenner are globally known for living a lavish lifestyle rather than known for their works. Many agree that they have set unrealistic standards of happiness and success for young people. However, this essay will disagree with this view because many TV personalities are also known for their professional and charity works. Besides that, many stars are also well known for using their fame for raising awareness about some of our planet’s most pressing issues. Despite a small number of entertainers presenting unhealthy behaviours and materialism on national TV shows, many inspirational actors have achieved the pinnacle of their careers and inspired the young in the process. For example, one of the Oscar-winning actors, Tom Hanks, is well known for his achievements in acting. His works have inspired many aspiring young actors to make a breakthrough in their acting careers. Furthermore, many Grammy Award winners are more well known for their music than their fashion preferences and luxurious lifestyle. For instance, a British singer-songwriter and a Grammy Award winner, Adele, sold approximately 200,000 copies of her new album in 24 hours, showing that people passionately love her songs. Many stars also use their fame to raise awareness about some of our planet’s most urgent issues. For example, Leonardo DiCaprio, an Oscar-winning actor, has actively used his influence to persuade world citizens to respond to climate change. Besides donating to environmental causes, he has also urged world governments to act regarding the transition to green energy proactively. Another example is the eminent writer of the Harry Potter series, J.K. Rowling, who has raised charity globally to help connect orphans with foster families. Her non-profit company, Lumos, has helped thousands of orphans worldwide find loving foster families. In conclusion, TV and movie stars mostly use their fame wisely to influence their fans. They have become excellent role models and advocates of urgent issues our world is facing.