Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people argue that the effective way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences, while others say that there are better alternative ways. Although longer prison sentences contribute to reducing the number of crimes, I believe that there are more effective ways to decrease violence in people's life. On the one hand, extending the prison term of criminals provides a sense of community security. This is because many people are afraid of being the next criminal target, so they think that punishing criminals forever in prison is the most effective way. For example, individuals who live in a complex that has been robbed have traumatic about this case and felt scared every time, if their house is the next target. Therefore, they felt more safe if the crime was been jailed forever. On the other hand, implementing more effective ways to prevent criminality such as giving new skills to crimes might be better than extending the prison term. This is important in ensuring the survival of crime in society. Many criminals commit crimes because they are forced by circumstances. For instance, when a person steals money from a house, he admits that his crime was committed to provide food for his family, particularly his child.. As a result, new skills taught during prison can propel former criminals into good people and have good behaviour too. In conclusion, although giving longer prison sentences potential to reduce crime in society, I believe that the effective ways to minimize crime is to teach new skills during the prison term.