The crime rate among teenagers has increased dramatically in many countries. Discuss some possible reasons for this increase and suggest solutions.

Over the last decade, laws are evolving as there has been a massive rise in the level of crime committed by teenagers in several countries. In the U.A.E, the crime rate of youngsters has risen by 17% in the last 2 years as per the Dubai Police Authority. It is important to establish why this has happened and to look at ways to solve the problem. The following paragraphs will address these components. One reason is the breakdown in the nuclear family. With increased divorce rates, many children have been brought up in one-parent families with no father to act as a role model which is detrimental to their development. It is particularly important for boys because without proper guidance they can easily be led into bad influences such as drugs and crime. Another factor is the lack of things to do for the young. For example, in the UK, television programs about these issues reveal that teenagers hang around in the evenings with little to do. When such events happen, boredom affects the individual, they will find their own entertainment, which is often crime. Firstly, extended government support for families is a great way to tackle this problem. To illustrate, they could invest more into building and staffing youth centres which would provide guidance through the youth workers and enable teenagers to focus their attention on sports and other activities. Secondly, parents should also be encouraged to take more responsibility for their children. Ultimately, the onus is on them to ensure their children are brought up in a loving environment which would make them less likely to turn to crime. They could, for instance, find a male relative to act as a role model. In conclusion, there are various reasons for the rise in crime, but solutions are available. If we begin to tackle the issue now, we may be able to prevent the situation from declining further.