Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that performing community service can help students as well as the society. In some schools, community service is one of the mandatory requirements for graduation. In my point of view, I reckon that giving students opportunities to involve in unpaid services can prove advantages for both community and them. Volunteering activities can help students to take responsibilities as open-minded. Community service develops an increased sense of social responsibility which is a global view of society and a heart for give back and helping others. For instance, the youths who work at the retirement centres or orphanages learn the patience and empathy from interacting with the people from those places who have vastly different backgrounds. Due to those benefits got from the experience of working as volunteer, I strongly agree that community service should be compulsary as one of the programs at high schools. Furthermore, by engaging in community work, students can build relationships and social connectedness with peers and adults. The more people they meet, the more social awareness they have. Voluteer activities allow them to have the opportunity to meet many other youths from different places which exposes them to diversity and multiculturalism too. For example, if an adult has to work at a retirement centre, he or she is likely to meet the other adults with the matching mindset and interests either from the same or different cultures, by which they can connect easily to each other regardless of which background they came from. they also will learn that being a good person does not depend on the religion, status in life, race or skin color. Therefore, from my point of view, community service should be an essential requirement for school graduation as the things learned from unpaid social service are so valuable that cannot be taught in the school curriculum. In conclusion, the rewarding experiences acquired from doing community service help the students to grow as a person with better interpersonal skills. That being so, I fully support the idea that schools should encourage the students to work in unpaid services in the community by making community service a necessity as part of the school programmes.