In many cities, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices and homes in specific areas and separate them from each other. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is an increasing trend in many countries that governments prefer to demolish old buildings and construct facilities in a specific area for the public’s living, shopping, working, and education. Although this trend can bring some benefits, I believe that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. On the one hand, this trend can offer some benefits. One of the main benefits is that employers can save time and energy on hiring. If more companies choose to start their business in the same area, they are more likely to hire employees without spending a significant expense on hiring advertisements, which can profit companies. Another benefit is that it can provide a better shopping experience for the public. For example, consumers can go shopping and purchase goods, including foods, clothes, shoes, and other commodities, without driving or walking to other districts. This one-stop shopping experience can save their time and energy. Moreover, the intense plan for community construction can improve land use. Compared with the undeveloped plan in the past, a well-constructed community is more tidy and clean, which can improve the sense of belonging for the city dwellers. On the other hand, there are also some drawbacks. Firstly, governments should invest more funds in the construction of infrastructures in the new plan. For instance, they should build more roads between facilities to meet the daily demand, such as houses, hospitals, and schools. Otherwise, it will cause traffic congestion in cities. If public transportation is not available in these areas, commuters need to spend more time commuting, leading to less efficiency in their work. Secondly, students should go to other places where far from their homes. This means that they need to reduce their leisure time on transporting, making them less energetic. Furthermore, studying or working in areas that lack restaurants can decline the living standards. If they need to cross blocks to enjoy lunch or buy a cup of coffee, they may be vulnerable to the lack of healthy foods. In conclusion, although this trend can bring some benefits to the public, the drawbacks outweigh the benefits.