Some people think secondary school students should study international news as one of their subject, while others are diasgree. Discuss both views.

It is undeniably true that education plays an indispensable role in an individual's life. Some scholars concur that it is pointless to include global news as a subject in the school curriculum, while others think it may have indeed many positive impacts on teaching current affairs in schools. I personally believe that it is really important to enhance students' knowledge at the global level, and both views will be discussed in the subsequent paragraphs. There are scores of reasons why regular updates about the globe are beneficial. The main reason is children will become knowledgeable and smarter. From the news of any part of the world, pupils would become aware of the social, political and environmental problems faced by the country. Thus, learners may take steps at a smaller level to reduce it. For example, global warming is an alarming issue, students can create awareness campaigns in schools, families and communities to plant more and more trees. Moreover, it will keep pupils aware of international sports and their results. This can be an encouraging factor and will inspire them to participate in various sports competitions. However, what is half full for some, may appear half empty to others. Opponents argue that secondary school students already face a heavy academic workload, and adding global events as a subject may lead to stress and burnout, which can further cause depression and anxiety. Besides, critics also believe that students may not have the maturity or background knowledge that is necessary to fully comprehend complex international issues, which might lead to misunderstanding or a negative image of that particular issue. Overall, in the view of arguments outlined above one can assertively conclude that although studying international news has many drawbacks, still it has uncountable benefits as it makes children more responsible towards their nation and creates interest in different fields.