Parents of obese children should be punished for making them obese. Do you agree or disagree

It is argued that the mothers and fathers of overweight children should be penalized for allowing their offspring to become obese. This essay disagrees with this statement because parents do not control what children eat at all times and genetic factors are also to blame. Parents are not present when children consume most of their food. When children are at school they eat snacks and have lunch and adults have no control over their dietary intake during this time. A child could consume the vast majority of their calories during these unsupervised periods, without their mother and father's knowledge or permission and much of this intake could take the form of junk food.A recent study found that primary school students consume an average of 75% of their daily recommended allowance during school hours. Secondly, obesity can also be a product of genetic effects in the case of many fat children.Certainly, many families have imbalanced metabolism which is carried forward in the next generation.In this situation, both parents and children are helpless until and unless it is treated medically. A recent survey conducted in India concluded that 65% of children are overweight because of any genetic fault. Therefore, instead of punishing the parents of such, children they must be given detailed and informed knowledge about helping their obese children with their problems whether it is dietary or medical. In conclusion, parents should not be sanctioned if their sons or daughters are too heavy because they are unable to supervise their diet for most of the day and genes play a role in determining the weight of a human being.