These days, too many people maintain their health by relying on doctors and medicine, rather than by following a healthy lifestyle. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently people prefer to put responsibilities on the medicine and doctors' shoulders to take care of their health rather than revising their lifestyles. It is widely accepted that medicine plays an increasingly important role in maintaining public health and reliance on it is enough alone for this purpose. I am convinced that this wrong belief is widespread in our society and a healthy lifestyle, which can be a passport to living a healthy life, is being overlooked. To begin, taking different medications is more acceptable these days and people are taking more pills compared to the past. This increase can show that they are relying on medicine and are looking at medications as an easy way to reciprocate their unhealthy habits. By looking at the rate of supplement sales in well-known companies like Costco, it is clearly observed that people prefer to obtain essential nutrients by taking supplements and continue having unhealthy diets. Besides it, people have the same approach regarding their illnesses. For example, diabetic patients are showing better medication compliance and prefer starting medications and counting sugar and carb intake instead of trying to balance their blood sugar by correcting eating and having regular physical exercise. Moreover, people are visiting their physicians more frequently and looking for their guidance in medical problems. A good example that demonstrates this fact is the waiting time that one needs to wait to see their family physician in Canada. In most of these visits they are asking for a prescription to solve their problems and they are successful to leave the doctor's office with lists of various pills, and when it comes to changing their lifestyle, doctors usually face strict refusals and excuses. Apart from that, even in situations that no useful medication exists, people ask doctors do things for them rather than them taking action. For instance, they easily accept undergoing surgeries for a worn out knee rather than decreasing their weights and strengthening their muscles. To sum up, the fact that taking pills and depending on medical science is replacing eating a healthy diet, exercising, stopping smoking and limiting the intake of alcohol is completely accurate. I believe that their acceptance to take pills and the number of medications they use in addition to the frequency of doctor visits can demonstrate it.