QUESTION; In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shipping. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Due to the modernisation of,society a number of large shopping buildings have been constructed; therefore, the majority of people get attracted to these huge shopping centres. So, it is seen that multifarious local shops have closed due to financial loss as people nowadays like to buy things from malls. This is a negative development because small shops are the only source of income for poor people and customers have to travel a lot to buy daily used products. Further elaboration will be discussed in the following paragraphs along with suitable examples. To commence with, India is a nation where more than half of the population has been living below the poverty line. Moreover, many people of them are uneducated; therefore, people run a few businesses according to their financial status. Besides this, these people run their small businesses in countryside areas, as a number of shopping malls are very less in the rural areas. So, these small shops are their only source of money their family is fully dependent on only these shops; however, nowadays people try shopping in the large malls and so many shopping areas are available anywhere these days. As a result, small shops honours have faced huge income losses and their shops have closed.,Now these people do not have enough money to full fill their basic requirements. For example, a report from Time Now in 2020 stated that almost people 90% of people who face major losses in this trend were unable to buy meals for their families. Hence, these trends have a huge negative impact on these small shops ' honours. Moving further, because small shops have closed; therefore, people have to travel a lot to buy even small things such as milk, bread, sanitary napkins and many more from shopping centres and which is very time consuming and irritating as well. In addition, a lot of people have spent a huge amount of money in malls even if they do not have a need to buy any particular thing. For instance, a survey from Oxford University stated that almost 70% of people buy things only to watch others or sometimes for product's attractive packaging they do not even need to purchase some products. Therefore, people spend there a huge collection of money only on unnecessary items. In conclusion, the closing of small shops has a negative trend as many shopkeepers depended on them. Also, people have to travel very far to buy basic things and they spend a large amount to purchase unnecessary things.