Today, many young people spend too much of their free time at shopping malls. This can be considered negative for young people and society generally. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Teenagers tend to have a huge influence on celebrities nowadays. Some people argue that it causes them to spend too much time staying at a department store, which may lead to a negative outcome. I completely agree with the statement and this essay will discuss related reasons. Firstly, via the internet and social media people can instantly follow the latest information from all kinds of brands, such as clothing brands, electronic products, and also ordinary items. Thus, the crowd will easily appeal to those fancy and interesting advertisements. Besides, some celebrities are paid for posting articles to promote a new product. Additionally, the young community would like to buy the same things as if they are a part of the mainstream. Consequently, teenagers are often being misunderstood to purchase a thing that they could not afford. Secondly, there are a variety of different types of shops in the mall, thus folk can not only do their shopping but also have meals or even watch movies. By and large, if young adults are obsessed with those indoor activities in their leisure time, it could lead to health problems and a lack of interaction with society. For instance, according to the statistics, the obesity index among teenagers is constantly increasing in recent years. Furthermore, the inadequacy of communication with the public also contributes to mental problems, such as depression or frustration. To sum up, it is a common circumstance that the young community love to spend their time in shopping malls. I totally agree with the negative effects that it brings to us. Considering their physical and mental health problems, governments and parents should take action actively.