Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

Settling in an international land for better future endeavours can be troublesome and one such problem is the language barrier which may cause major social as well as practical issues for an individual. I strongly agree with the above statement and this essay will explain my perspective in detail. Firstly, the social lifestyle of a person gets impacted greatly. As communication is the key to making any new relationship and an immigrant does not know the local speech of the country in which he migrated, making friends would be very exhausting for him. For instance, in,China it is mandatory to learn Chinese as people are not aware of English which creates problems for the foreign residents to keep up with the society. Because of this, the students or career aspirants who need the most emotional support in a new place, as they are away from their family, will feel left out. Secondly, these people may also feel some discomfort in their practical lives. The day-to-day simple tasks like buying food or travelling to the workplace require talking. Consequently, the person has to make much effort to accommodate himself in the city due to inadequate linguistic skills, which in turn will cause distraction from the main purpose of his relocation. Some measures should be taken by the government to tackle this issue. Providing a translator for the initial months of settlement can be beneficial. Also, a provision for learning a native language for free can be introduced. In conclusion, it is evident that living in a nation where one has to speak an unknown language can cause social complications and mess up someone's practical life. Hence, the government of a particular region should provide aid to these migrants so that they can overcome these kinds of obstacles and focus on their main purpose of resettling.