Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which caused many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Many processed food and drinks we consume today, contain a great amount of sugar, which is well known to be detrimental to our health. Rising the cost of such products will make people less eager to buy them. Looking at the statement, I have to say I will partially disagree, and I would like to explain myself, further. I do not completely go along with the statement, because I think, rising cost is a simple solution to a very complex problem, however, it is a small part of the answer. In the past, fat has been blamed for causing many issues to our wellbeing. Later on, and after many studies, scientists find out a correlation between sugar and serious illness, that was primarily attributed to fat, like obesity, heart disease and diabetes type 2, just to mention some. For example, diabetes type 2, is a disease that will affect a person in adulthood, and the main reason is diet and lack of exercise. On the other hand, raising the price of sugary products will make people think twice before buying them, which I am sure is not the right approach to address the matter. Consumption of carbohydrates is a habit, also it creates addiction, and both of these are very difficult to tackle. Recent research found that raising the sugary goods didn't affect in a significant way the sales. To sum up, I believe, more is needed to finally be able to fix this ongoing problem. Besides increasing the price of this product, we also need, to educate people in order to change their lifestyle, labelling products with the right information in a clear way, and also rising the sugar tax on manufacturers to encourage them to use less sugar in their products, or to use other alternatives, like natural sweeteners. Furthermore, introducing healthy well-being marketing, like a balanced diet and being active, will contribute too.