Many people work long hours, leaving very little for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

It has come to notice that many are working for long hours these days, not sparing much life for other activities. Although working extra time may help the individual or a company to get the job done quickly, however, not investing some seconds in personal life may lead to health and physical problems. This essay will talk about the advantages and disadvantages of the same in the following paragraphs. Firstly, many professionals have been working from home due to the pandemic for the last two years. This, working from home made people struggle for longer hours because of various reasons such as low internet connectivity, disturbance from family, more requests etc. As a result of it, employees forced themselves to sit in front of their personal computers for more than required to complete the daily deliverables. This might have helped clients to get their projects done before the due date, and end-user might have been satisfied with on- time service. The people who worked very hard to complete the tasks before the cut off time by utilizing their leisure time might have received a recognization or an increase in their annual salary. For example, TCS has offered a 10% additional bonus to all their employees during 2020-21 for their continuous efforts from the home. However, on other hand, many people who invested their free time in the office work ended up having a lot of health issues such as obesity, back pains and vision complications due to continuous focus on a computer screen. Few also got admitted into the hospitals due to the same. For instance, many software engineers who work day and night reported many health and mental issues as per the latest report. To conclude, since it is very significant to complete the company stuff on priority to ensure continuous support to the clients and as well as end-users, one should plan accordingly. Having said that, they cannot let themselves into a situation where they utilize their personal time for the office work as it leads to various issues mentioned above.