Some educationalists think that international exchange visits will benefit teenagers at the school. To what extent do advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

Nowadays, education is a key factor to success. Student exchange programs become more and more popular and some specialists consider that they will be useful for teenagers at school. There are a number of advantages such beliefs including, broadening their experience, as well as the process itself promotes personal growth through introduction and interaction with different cultures. However, there are some drawbacks which should be taken into account. First of all, having a variety of life experiences is imperative for teenagers to grow up into healthy productive adults. For example; if the teenagers join the student exchange program, it will help them to expand their horizons and open up their minds effectively. Furthermore, when a student leaves their home, family and friends to have a semester abroad, they go through and experience new things. They could not learn if they had not travelled to other areas. For instance; they travel alone and go to the new school in a completely different environment that`s why they can face a challenge because they are on the other side of the planet without their near and dear ones. Moreover, needless to say, such a journey will help develop a number of new skills in them as independence, leadership and so on. On the other hand, going abroad has some negative sides such as homesickness and language barrier. Thus, when adolescents go abroad, they can not cope with the language barrier and they feel alone. Additionally, this kind of travel is so expensive for some parents and they are unable to afford such expenses. In conclusion, although this tendency has some drawbacks, there are a number of factors which encourage people to visit other countries. I believe the benefits of personal growth outweigh the negative factors.